Zimbabwe



Zimbabwe is a country in southern Africa that is bordered by Botswana, Mozambique, South Africa and Zambia. Its capital is Harare and it has a population of 14,546,314. It has a tropical climate that is moderated by altitude with a rainy season from November to March.

Languages

Zimbabwe has 16 official languages including Shona, Ndebele, English, Cheba, Chibarwe, Kalanga, Sotho, Tonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa, Koisan, Nambya, Ndau, Shangani and Sign Language.

Nationality

Zimbabwean

Currency

Zimbabwean Dollars and US Dollars



Ethnic Groups

The Shona people make up approximately 75% of Zimbabwe's population. Divisions by colonial missionaries led to the three largest groups, the Zezeru, Karanga and Manyika. The Ndbele are the largest minority group, others including the Shangaan, Venda and Tonga.

Zimbabwe's national symbols are the Great Zimbabwe Bird, the African Fish Eagle and the flame lily.



Major Sites

- Hwange National Park
- Matobo National Park
- Victoria Falls
- Lake Kariba
- The Great Zimbabwe Ruins
- Matopos Hills
- Khami National Monument
- Chimanimani Mountains
- Danamombe Ruins

Independence Day

April 18, 1980

Zimbabwe's national colors are red, yellow, green, black and white.

